30 C
Monday, March 20, 2023

Govt nominates 27 Indians abroad for Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award | Latest News India

Govt nominates 27 Indians abroad for Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award | Latest News India

NEW DELHI: An educator from Bhutan, a doctor from Brunei and civil society activists from Ethiopia, Israel and Poland were among 27 selected on Monday to receive the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA), which is Highest honor for Indians abroad.

PBSA is conferred by the President, as part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention, to Non-Resident Indians (NRIs), People of Indian Origin (PIOs) or organizations established and run by NRIs or PIOs in recognition of their outstanding achievements in India and abroad .

The 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Congress will be held in Indore, Madhya Pradesh from January 8th to 10th. The awards will be presented by the President at the farewell session of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas celebration.

Winners are selected by a Judging and Awards Committee chaired by the Vice President. Foreign Minister Jaishankar Jaishankar is the vice-chairman of the group, and other members come from all walks of life. The ministry said the committee considered nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award and selected the winner unanimously.

The winners represent the excellence of the Indian diaspora in various fields and include Australia’s Jagadish Chennupati, Bhutan’s Sanjeev Mehta, Brazil’s Dilip Londo and Brunei’s Alexander Maliakel John in medicine, Canada’s Vaikuntam Iyer Lakshmanan in community welfare, Joginder Singh Nijjar from Croatia in Arts and Culture, Ramjee Prasad from Denmark in IT and Kannan Ambalam from Ethiopia in Community Welfare.

Other winners include Amal Kumar Mukhopadhyay from Germany in Community Welfare, Mohamed Irfaan Ali from Guyana in Politics and Community Welfare, Reena Vinod Pushkarna in Israel in Business and Community Welfare, Maqsooda Sarfi Shiotani in Education from Japan, Rajagopal in Education from Mexico, Amit Kailash Chandra Lath in Poland in business, Parmanand Sukhumal Daswani in the Republic of the Congo in community welfare, Piyush Gupta in Singapore in business, and Mohanlal Hira and Sanjaykumar Shivabhai Patel in South Sudan in community welfare.

Sivakumar Nadesan (Community Welfare) in Sri Lanka, Dewanchandrebhose Sharman (Community Welfare) in Suriname, Archana Sharma (Technology) in Switzerland, Frank Arthur Seepersad in Trinidad and Tobago (Community Welfare), Siddharth Balachandran (Business) in the UAE , Chandrakant Babubhai Patel (Media) from the UK, Darshan Singh Dhaliwal (Business and Community Welfare) from the US, Rajesh Subramaniam (Business) from the US and Ashok Kumar Tiwary (Business) from Uzbekistan were also honored.

Source link

Related Articles

Crown Electric acquires Kuwait zero-carbon ship deal

Crown Electric Ships and Boats Dubai, a pioneering electric boat manufacturer, has announced an agreement with Kuwait's Bader Sultan Group to develop and...

Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel Receives Intertek Safety Certification

Intertek Cristal, the market-leading global health, safety, quality and tourism-focused security risk management company, has awarded Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resorts five...

MakeMyTrip Expands Partnership with Hotels in the Middle East

MakeMyTrip, South Asia's leading online travel company, has partnered with thousands of hotels in the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia and Europe...

Businesses turn to automation to streamline HR processes

According to Connect Group, many businesses in the UAE are implementing HR software technology to improve efficiency and productivity. Connect's HR software...

Thuraya Launches New Tactical Satcom Solution

Thuraya Telecommunications Company in the UAE has launched a new satellite tactical radio extender solution (T-TAC) at Satellite 2023, designed for the government...

Latest Articles