42 C
Saturday, September 23, 2023

Tour de France 2023: Stage 7 results


Jasper Philipsen wins stage 3 of 2023 Tour de France

Jasper Philipsen wins Group 3 sprint 2023 Tour de France, best of three, Mark Cavendish lost his record-breaking 35th stage win of his career. It was his fifth win in two years.this Belgian Definitely the current sprint king. He also extended his lead in the points standings, while Jonas Vingegaard maintained his overall lead.

The 172 riders started again today, with Simon Guglielmi (Arkea-Samsic) leading the charge after the race. Jonas Abrahamsen (Uno-X), Nelson Oliveira (Movistar) and Mathieu Burgaudeau (TotalEnergies) caught up to him but gave up, leaving the Frenchman just ahead at 4km. Guglielmi’s biggest advantage was 7’15’ at kilometer 18, with Alpecin-Deceunink and Lotto-Dstny forming the main pack. Guglielmi won the Intermediate Sprint, followed by Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deseninck) and Brian Cocal (Cofidis).

With 79 kilometers to go, Pierre Latour (TotalEnergies) and Nans Peters (AG2R-Citroën) attacked through the crowd. After another five kilometers, they overtook the only leader. With 50km to go, the time difference to the main team was 50 inches. Guglielmi couldn’t keep pace on the Côte de Béguey (line 4) and Latour took the lead with 39km to go. Guglielmi naturally won the Combat Power Award. Latour and Peters continued until they got bogged down in the streets of Bordeaux, Peters with 6km to go and Latour 3.5km from the finish line.

2023 Tour de France

Alpecin-Deceuninck gave Philipsen a very good lead in the final 2km. Mark Cavendish (Astana) tried his luck from distance, but the Belgian was not impressed, and he still had enough energy for the finishing touch, making him this year’s three-stage champion. Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) was on the podium, finishing in the top three for the first time at the Tour de France.

Tour de France 2023: Stage 7 results in brief

  1. Jasper Phillipson (Alpecin – Decueninck) @ 3h 46′ 28″, B : 10″
  2. Mark Cavendish (Astana, Kazakhstan) st , B : 6″
  3. Biniam Girmay (Intermarche – Circus – Wanty) st , B: 4″
  4. L. Mozzato (Arkea – Samsic) st
  5. Dylan green road (Jekko Alola) st

General classification after stage 7:

  1. Jonas Wengergaard (Jumbo – Visma) @ 29h 57′ 12” , B : 11”
  2. There Pogacar (Emirates) @ 25″, B: 26″
  3. Jai Hindley (BORA – Hansgrohe) @ 01′ 34″ , B : 18”
  4. Sean Yates (Team Jayco AlUla) @ 3’14” , B: 8″


Source link

Related Articles

UAE Advises Citizens in New Zealand After Flooding

The UAE Embassy in Wellington has issued a Twitter advisory to its citizens in New Zealand, urging caution in the Gore and Queenstown areas...

Indian fugitive Nirav Modi now in private London prison

Nirav Modi, the Indian fugitive facing fraud and money laundering charges, has been transferred from a crowded UK prison to a privately-run facility in...

Guinean Cycles 4,000km to Pursue Islamic Studies Dream in Egypt

Mamadou Safayou Barry, a Guinean man, cycled 4,000 km across West African countries to pursue Islamic studies at Egypt's prestigious Al Azhar University. Despite...

Philippines Issues Health Warning for Volcanic smog

A restive volcano near the Philippine capital Manila emitted elevated levels of sulfur dioxide and volcanic smog on Friday, leading authorities to close schools...

Indian Parliament Reserves One-Third of Seats for Women

The historic Women's Reservation Bill, which allocates 33% of seats for women in both the Lok Sabha (Lower House) and state assemblies, has been...

Latest Articles